During the first half of the 13th century the Emperor of Nikeas, Theodore Laskaris the 1st, was the founder of the Holy Monastery of Strofadi. As was the custom of byzantine emperors it was dedicated to Jesus Christ. According to the historian L. Zois, the Emperor John Paleologos renovated the monastery, approximately in the year 1440 a.d.
The monastery looks like a castle and inside is the Church, something that is unique for an orthodox monastery. Across the castle there is the Chapel of St George, there lay the grave of the Holy Body of our Saint for a few years. According to Hiotis, in 1530 or 1538, Saracens attacked the monastery and the fathers of the monastery were slaughtered. After this disaster the monastery slowly started to be restored. In 1568 the Zakynthian count Draganikos Sigouros, was named Daniel and ordained Monk of the Monastery of Strofadia. In about 1570 he became Abbot of the Monastery according to the witnesses of the contracts at that time. As Abbot Our Saint took care of various monasteries until death when his dying wish was carried out, to be buried at the monastery of Strofadia on December 17th, 1622.